CMU joins APACPH as a Member Institution

CMU joined the Asia-Pacific Academic Consortium for Public Health (APACPH) as a Member Institution when 20 CMU faculty members and students attended the 48th APACPH Conference during 16 and 19 September 2016 at Teikyo University (帝京大學), Tokyo, Japan. On behalf of CMU, Professor Wen-Chen Tsai, Dean of College of Public Health, received the membership certificate from Professor Myongsei Sohn, President of APACPH. Dean Tsai was invited to attend the Deans Meeting to meet with Deans of Colleges of Public Health from around the world, delegates of member institutions of APACPH and briefly exchanged ideas and experiences with Dean Chia Kee Seng, Saw Swee Hock School of Public Health, National Singapore University. APACPH is an international non-profit organization comprising more than 85 universities / health-related organizations from more than 20 countries in the Asia-Pacific region and is committed to improving professional education for public health. The APACPH goals are to improve the quality of life and to achieve the highest level of health for citizens of the Asia-Pacific nations. In Taiwan, five universities (China Medical University, Kaohsiung Medical University, National Taiwan University, Taipei Medical University, Tzu-Chi University) and the Health Promotion Administration of the Ministry of Health and Welfare have joined APACPH as Member Institutions.